The Machinery Haulers Association Presents Safety Awards

On Tuesday, August 22, the awards for the 2023 TMHA Truck Fleet Safety Contest (for operational safety data for 2022) were presented first thing after the opening of the 2023 TMHA Safety & Security Conference held at the Grand Geneva Resort & Spa at Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. At TMHA, we believe in showcasing and presenting the safety awards front and center at the conference because we know safe motor carrier operation on our nation's highways and byways is the most important thing we do.

This year, we again had a high rate of participation in the contest and the member carriers of TMHA once again made it very difficult for our judges to select the winning fleets. The entries were that close and that impressive. We are blessed to have three of the most knowledgeable and respected safety professionals in the business serve on the judging panel for our contest and we want to thank them for their hard work, as performing that duty is challenging and time-consuming. Thank you, John Simms (HNI Risk Services, LLC); John Joines (Great West Casualty Company); and Jeff Davis (Napa River Insurance / Hudson Insurance Group).

Now, here are the cream of the crop, the best of the best, winning carriers:

Small Fleet Winner (less than 5 million miles): **Amhof Trucking, Inc.** - Eldridge, IA Large Fleet Winner (more than 5 million miles): **Hunt Transportation, Inc.** - Omaha, NE Most Consistent Fleet Winner: **Hilburn Trucking, Inc.** - Independence, MO

Amhof is a 3-time previous winner in the contest, Hunt is a 4-time previous winner, and Hilburn is also a 4-time previous winner! Hilburn has the proud distinction of having had only 1 DOT recordable accident over the last 5 years, truly a remarkable achievement, thus the judges awarding the Most Consistent award to Hilburn Trucking, Inc.



Randy Amhof (Amhof Trucking), John Simms (HNI), John Joines (Great West), Tony Hoff (Hudson Ins.)



Clayton Fisk (TMHA), Josh Besco (Hunt Transportation), Brent Menke (Hunt Transportation)



Amhof (Chairman - TMHA), Simms, Wayne Hilburn (Hilburn Trucking), Joines, Hoff

Congratulations to our three award-winners for their stellar achievement of exemplary safety operation on the road and thank you for your unwavering dedication to safe fleet operation! Please be certain to congratulate these carriers when you have the opportunity. Also, congratulations to the other carriers who entered the contest who also had excellent records and made the judging for the contest so difficult. Keep up the great work and be certain to enter again next year.

Again, Congratulations to our award-winning fleets!